Soaring Sky! Pretty Cure Episode 15: Never Falter

Sora carries out her duties as a member of the Azure Guards in the fifteenth episode of Soaring Sky! Pretty Cure.

Captain Shalala strikes

Turns out that Shalala’s sword really is not just for show

You know you’re in for a good episode when it immediately shows you something you were hoping to see – or that’s the case for me, at least. I’m pretty happy that we get to see the Azure Guards at work, and it only gets even better later on.
This episode focuses on Sora carrying out her duties as an Azure Guard, including taking down a number of Ranborgs.

Shalala and Sora

Sora and Shalala may have been able to meet again because of the pendant

This is very much a Sora episode, although other characters do get a moment here and there. Tsubasa reuniting with his parents, for example. However, if you were to ask me the highlight of the episode, I’d say it comes courtesy of Captain Shalala.

Captain Shalala

This whole sequence is so good

Though the Azure Guards wipe out a fair number of Ranborgs at the start, that was all actually part of Battamonda’s plan. It gives us a bit of insight into how Ranborgs work. That gives rise to a mega Ranborg, and one that threatens to blast the kingdom off the map – and proves to be a little too much for Updraft Shining.
That’s where Shalala charges in on a griffin, in an incredible sequence. It’s so good, easily the main highlight of this episode for me. Shalala’s attack comes at a price, though…

Cure Sky

Even in a weakened state, Cure Sky will come running when Ellee calls her

Shalala’s charge was certainly a highlight, but I’ve also definitely got to mention Cure Sky scaring Battamonda into retreating by just standing there menacingly. Is it through sheer badassery? Or does Battamonda’s cowardice win out? Maybe it’s a bit of both. Either way, another great scene from this episode.

I’m thoroughly convinced: the best episodes of this season come from when the setting is Skyland. This has been an incredible way to wrap up this three episode arc. Actually kind of ends of a dark note if you really think about it: Shalala has disappeared, and the king and queen of Skyland have been cursed to eternal slumber.
That’s the kind of thing that I really like about Pretty Cure, though. Given a chance, it does not shy away from being a little dark. Besides, Sora, Mashiro and Tsubasa are still active as Pretty Cure, and Yoyo may know something to help. So there’s some hope illuminating that darkness.

What an incredible episode. Absolutely adored it.

Next episode is story time.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Episodic, Pretty Cure and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Soaring Sky! Pretty Cure Episode 15: Never Falter

  1. I just finished this episode a few moments ago and wow this series is off with a banger.

    It makes me wonder how Shalala will reappear. We haven’t got the fourth Cure yet. I was convinced it’s Mashiro’s childhood friend.

    I love how Ellie’s first word is Sora. (I could be wrong. I don’t recall her saying anything prior) It’s just how impactful Sora is to her and the whole series.

Leave a comment