Autumn 2015 Anime: First Impressions Part 1

With the arrival of October comes the start of a new season of anime. I previously detailed what I would be watching, and this is the post where I follow up on that with my impressions of the first episode of each of the anime.
This will be based on the order I watched the anime in.
Also, this will be the first of two posts containing first impressions as some of the shows I intend to watch air after the second episodes of the stuff listed here.

Hackadoll the Animation
First up for Autumn this year is an anime about three ‘HackaDolls’ sent to Earth to help advance humanity. Turns out they are quite inept, leading to a fairly enjoyable first episode. The HackaDolls are called HackaDoll #1, HackaDoll #2 and HackaDoll #3, respectively. For first impressions, the lazy #3 is my favourite. Also, the

Miss Monochrome: The Animation 3
Despite being a new season, the opening and ending themes are still the same – slightly disappointing as I would have liked to hear some new stuff from Miss Monochrome. Otherwise, it’s back to business as usual as Miss Monochrome prepares for her tour.

Attack on Titan: Junior High
This parody starts off strong, with a familiar opening theme. I also like the way they’ve kept the original anime’s soundtrack, but all the characters are chibis. I laughed out loud on several occasions for this first episode, so this is something I think I will enjoy.

One Punch Man
So it’s established the main character is able to defeat any enemy in a single punch, which has left him unable to enjoy fighting. I haven’t read the manga, so I’m interested to see where this one goes – I’m guessing there’s going to be more to it than watching Saitama practically instantly defeat every enemy he comes across. This episode gave off a good first impression.

Komori-san Can’t Decline
This first episode was just Komori receiving a lot of requests that she can’t decline, and her friends’ attempts to stop people from asking her for so much. At 2 minutes long, there isn’t really much to say – I thought the first episode was fairly enjoyable.

JK-MESHI!
Clearly I’m watching a lot of shorts this season, and JK-MESHI! is the next one on the list. The episode length is 3 minutes 30 seconds, and it’s pretty standard girls’ club fare – three girls who are studying together (the French Revolution in this first episode), who then decide to eat. This was all right, though I think I might need to watch a few more episode to become acclimated to the animation.

YuruYuri Season 3
The girls of YuruYuri return, and I still find it as humorous ever. I enjoyed the antics of the girls of the main cast, but I’m looking forward to seeing more from the other characters in future episodes, too.

Hidan no Aria AA
Pretty great first episode, shame about the terrible fansubs… Still, the opening and ending theme are great, and it seems that the action from this will be quite fun to watch.

Magical Somera-chan
And another short-form anime series… If you’ve seen Ai Mai Mi, then this is pretty much like that – after all, both of these shows are based on manga by the same person. It’s exactly as I expected it to be, which is fine by me.

And there we have the first half of the shows I’m watching this season. I’m a bit gutted that the majority of them are short-form (only three on this list are around the average 24 minute mark – One Punch Man, YuruYuri Season 3 and Hidan no Aria AA, in case you were wondering).
My next post will cover the first impressions for the remaining shows I intend to watch this season – Anitore! EX, Is the Order a Rabbit?? (you can tell it’s the second season from the two question marks), and Valkyrie Drive -Mermaid-.
I’ll also share my thoughts on the long-running shows that I’m watching. These shows are Dragon Ball Super, One Piece, Go! Princess PreCure and Fairy Tail Series 2.
Well, that’s that for now. I just hope the remaining shows air when I expect them to.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

