Yuri Is My Job! Episode 3: I Tell You, It’s No Lie

Hime’s facade runs at full power in the third episode of Yuri Is My Job!. She’s determined to play the part of a dutiful little sister and get into Ayanokouji’s good graces whatever it takes.

Ayanokouji hugs Hime

Hime gets the praise she desires

This episode of Yuri Is My Job adapts Shift 05: “I Tell You, It’s No Lie” and Shift 06: “What Am I to Believe” from the manga. And does a practically flawless job of doing so, too. I had my manga opened whilst I was watching the episode to directly compare the two, and everything that was on the pages could be seen in the anime. In fact, the anime even manages to find a few seconds here and there to add extra little touches.
So first up, the adaptation of Shift 05 shows us how Hime is acclimating to Café Liebe and how she is really giving her facade everything she has. It seems to pay off for her… until she gets a little bit careless.

Ayanokouji

Ayanokouji hears Hime’s confession about her facade

There is one tiny difference between the manga and anime that I did notice: Ayanokouji’s expressions are far more stern in the manga. It doesn’t really add or take anything, but it is something that is there.
Also, something worth keeping in mind are the flashbacks where people start giving up on Hime after discovering her facade – all because of one girl.

Hime and Ayanokouji

Hime and Ayanokouji actually sit down to talk

After Hime’s accidental confession, we move into the adaptation of Shift 06. Things seem to be business as usual at Café Liebe, but that doesn’t prevent Hime for spacing out. But hey, at least Ayanokouji is willing to sit down with her and actually talk about it. It’s nice to see some actual communication from time to time.
Unfortunately this communication does come with its own revelation for Hime.

Mitsuki Yano

Ayanokouji reveals she is Mitsuki Yano

So anyone who has been referring to Ayanokouji by her actual name up to this point has inadvertently been spoiling this reveal. Now that it is out there as of this episode, I’ll be referring to her as Mitsuki.
This episode also marks the point where the adaptation of volume 1 of the manga has been completed – and yes, it ends with Mitsuki revealing her name.
Things are certainly going to get even more interesting from now on. Good episode here.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Episodic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment