Summer 2024 Anime: What I Will Be Watching

The summer season of anime is almost upon us, so I shall be sharing with you the shows that I intend to watch once it has started.

Dungeon People

A thief wanders into a dungeon in search of her dad, and ends up being recruited to work on maintaining and developing the dungeon. The manga is a fun read, so I’m looking forward to seeing the anime adaptation.
Premiere date: 5/7/24

FAIRY TAIL: 100 Years Quest

Wendy Marvell returns – oh, and I suppose the rest of Fairy Tail, too, but most importantly for me, Wendy is back. With Yasuharu Takanashi also returning to compose the soundtrack, I am looking forward to the comeback of these rowdy wizards. This season of Fairy Tail sees the central group of characters tackling a notoriously difficult quest.
Premiere date: 7/7/24

MAYONAKA PUNCH

An anime about a video content creator and a vampire meeting, and then teaming up in an attempt to obtain one million subscribers. Even knowing the basic premise doesn’t really help me to know what to expect, so I am looking forward to seeing just what MAYONAKA PUNCH gives us.
Premiere date: 8/7/24

My Deer Friend Nokotan

Shikanoko nokonoko koshitantan~
Another show that is being adapted from a manga I have been collecting and reading. I don’t want to alarm anyone or anything, but My Deer Friend Nokotan may not take itself too seriously. It’s a bit of a silly one, and I love it for that.
Premiere date: 3/7/24

Narenare -Cheer for You!-

To put it simply, Narenare -Cheer for You!- is a cheerleading anime. Almost every season, you get at least one girls’ club anime, and this one is it.
Premiere date: 7/7/24

NieR:Automata Ver1.1a Cour 2

The second part of the NieR:Automata anime adaptation. Hopefully this cour has a smoother time of it than the first. I’ve been feeling the urge to replay the game recently, too… but whether I will actually get around to it or not… we’ll just have to see.
Premiere date: 5/7/24

Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin

Another video game adaptation is airing this season with Sakuna: Of Rice and Ruin. I enjoyed the game whilst I was playing it, but I never did finish the main story. Maybe this will give me the motivation to get back into it. The story focuses on a spoiled harvest goddess who is banished from her home, and has to defeat demons and cultivate rice.
Premiere date: 6/7/24

SHY Season 2

SHY returns for a second season. I loved the first one, so there is no way I’m missing out on this. Looks like our eponymous heroine will be taking on a leadership role in this second season, in which Tokyo seemingly disappears. Seems like she will gain a new ally, too.
Premiere date: 1/7/24

VTuber Legend: How I Went Viral after Forgetting to Turn Off My Stream

A VTuber forgets to turn her stream off one day, and reveals the pure image she has had up until then has been a facade. Turns out everyone in her company had been expecting that to happen sooner or later, so said VTuber – Awayuki Kokorone – is given free rein to be herself on stream. Seems like this anime will be on the sillier side. I like that.
Premiere date: 7/7/24

Those are the shows that I intend to watch this season. I’m particularly looking forward to Dungeon People and My Deer Friend Nokotan as I have read their respective mangas. I always welcome more SHY, since that first season was great. Those make up my top three most anticipated shows of the season, though I’m sure the rest will be fun too.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment