Thoughts on Nintendo Direct 12.04.2017

Nintendo Direct April 2017It’s gone midnight here in the UK as I type this, but I’m always willing to stay up late (or get up early as was the case with the Switch presentation) for news from the world of Nintendo – particularly when the news comes from a Nintendo Direct.
ARMS and Splatoon 2 were the main focus, but some other things were thrown in there as well. I won’t go over everything that was shown – I’ll embed the YouTube video for the UK Direct – but I will share my reactions towards bits and pieces.


When the new Nintendo Direct was announced, I figured that most of it would be dedicated to ARMS and Splatoon 2 as stated in the announcement, with mention of maybe one or two other games.
Whilst the Direct did indeed focus on those two games, turns out Nintendo had more than their fair share of announcements for other titles too.

The Direct kicked off with 3DS news, with some pretty interesting announcements. Two games I am particularly interested in will be released on June 23rd: Ever Oasis and RPG Maker Fes. To go along with RPG Maker Fes, 3DS owners will also be able to download RPG Maker Player for free from the eShop, allowing them to play through the RPGs people have created.
Monster Hunter Stories will also be released in the autumn, so I’m looking forward to that. Miitopia also looks quite interesting – imagine the quirky Tomodachi Life, but with a swords and sorcery twist.
Fire Emblem Echoes: Shadows of Valentia will also be receiving both free and paid DLC, because Intelligent Systems love nothing more than making Fire Emblem fans part with their cash. Eh, if it means more Fire Emblem games, I don’t have a problem with it.

There was also some amiibo news – the final three Smash Bros. amiibo, Cloud, Corrin and Bayonetta, will be released on July 21st. There will be two versions of each.
Before that, on June 23rd, there will be three Link amiibo released, based on different incarnations of the hero.

With plenty of Kirby goodness also headed our way to celebrate his 25th anniversary, I feel that this Direct has been pretty good – and we haven’t even got to the Switch stuff yet.

ARMS is looking more and more interesting every time I see it, and if I do pick it up, the newly introduced character Min Min might just be my main.
Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, ULTRA STREET FIGHTER II: The Final Challengers, Puyo Puyo Tetris and Disgaea 5 Complete are titles that we already know are coming to the Switch, but it was nice to see them mentioned as a reminder. There were also a few new Switch titles thrown in there for good measure.

A new multiplayer co-op mode was introduced for Splatoon 2 called Salmon Run, and it looks pretty interesting. A sort of wave-based mode in which you defeat enemies and collect Power Eggs and Golden Eggs.
And, of course, there will be Splatoon 2 amiibo. The game and the amiibo launch on July 21st.

I liked the showcase of both ARMS and Splatoon 2, but my favourite announcement – for the Switch lineup, at least – would have to be Fate/EXTELLA: The Umbral Star. I was tempted to pick it up for the PlayStation Vita, but didn’t because of the Switch being released, and then the MCM London Comic Con is coming up at the end of May…
I’ll definitely be getting the Switch version when it is released on July 21st, no doubt about it.

I haven’t mentioned everything that was in the Direct, but it’s just a case of clicking play on that video above if you want to see everything.

I really quite like the new style that the Nintendo Direct has, though having the headlines come up does slightly spoil some of the surprises that are in store. Still, giving one or two games major focus alongside quickfire announcements seems to work quite well – or at least, that’s what I think.

Overall, a pretty great Nintendo Direct – it certainly delivered a lot more than I expected it to. There was a pretty great variety of games on show here.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Nintendo News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on Nintendo Direct 12.04.2017

  1. I am looking forward to Fire Emblem Echoes. I own Fate/EXTELLA on PS4 and don’t rate it too highly. Then again I am a bit burnt out on Dynasty Warrior style games.

Leave a Reply

