Spring 2017 Anime: What I Will Be Watching

As the winter season of anime draws to an end, it’s about time to look forward to what will be airing next season.
For this season, there isn’t anything that really jumps out at as something I’d like to cover on a weekly basis at the moment. It’s possible that I’ll decide to cover a show based on its first episode. For now, though, I’ll just focus on what I want to watch during the spring.
I’ll also include the dates that each show are due to air, though at the time of writing I don’t know what availability on streaming sites will be like.
Information comes from MyAnimeList and AniChart.

Attack on Titan Season 2

Humanity’s fight against man-eating giants continues. I’ve been keeping up with the manga so I know what will happen, though I am curious about how people are going to react to certain events. I don’t know how close this season will come to catching up with the manga. From the previews I’ve seen, however, I do know I’m looking forward to seeing Sasha displaying some archery skills.

Frame Arms Girl

From what I can tell about this, this involves a girl who is gets into building ‘Frame Arms Girl’ model kits. Said model kits come to life, and they fight others. Seems like it could be quite interesting.
Frame Arms Girl is due to air from April 4th.

GRANBLUE FANTASY The Animation

I watched the first two episodes of this show when they were shown earlier on during the winter, and I found it to be a fairly enjoyable fantasy show. The show will continue during the spring, so I’ll be watching it.
Episodes 1 and 2 are available on Crunchyroll and Daisuki now, with regular broadcasting due to begin on April 2nd.

Hinako Note

Here’s the requisite cute girls doing cute things anime for this season. I’m particularly interested in the blue-haired lass, though I’m sure I’ll come to appreciate all the characters as this one airs.
Hinako Note is due to air on April 7th.

ID-0

Alliance Academy student Maya Mikuri gets involved in an incident with pirates, and ends up serving as a crew member on an excavation company’s spaceship. ‘I-Machines’ – robots that can operate in extreme conditions – are also involved.
Seems like this could be quite interesting, hence my decision to watch it.
ID-0 is due to air on April 9th.

My Hero Academia 2nd Season

I enjoyed the first season of My Hero Academia, so naturally I’ll be watching the second season as well. The first season was something of a slow-burner, so I’m hoping that this second season can get into things a bit quicker.
No fooling around, My Hero Academia‘s second season is due to air on April 1st.

Sakura Quest

This gives off Shirobako vibes, and the reason for that is that it is being produced by P.A. Works – the very same studio responsible for Shirobako. Considering how good that show was, I’ve got high hopes for this one.
Due to air on April 6th.

Sin: The 7 Deadly Sins

Judging by the music used in the PVs I’ve seen, I think I’m going to really like the soundtrack for this one. Looks to be an ecchi show, but that’s no bother for me. High school girl Maria ends up helping fallen angel Lucifer and Leviathan to defeat The Seven Deadly Sins, the demon lords of Hell. Also, the Seven Deadly Sins all happen to be scantily clad females, because anime.
Due to air on April 15th.

Twin Angel Break

I’m always up for checking out a new magical girl shows, and this looks to be one of them. I don’t know much else about this one.
Due to air on April 7th.

I’ll also continue to watch Dragon Ball Super, KiraKira ☆ PreCure a la Mode, Little Witch Academia and One Piece.

That’s everything that I intend to watch in spring, though it’s possible that things could change. Alice & Zouroku and Boruto: Naruto Next Generations are shows I may pick up, though there isn’t really much to persuade me to do so at the moment.
If I do decide to start covering any shows, then it will most likely be Twin Angel Break (because magical girls) and Sin: The 7 Deadly Sins (which would probably be the first NSFW show I’ll cover). I’m sold on the latter simply based on the music heard in the PVs, so I’m hoping the plot (no, not that kind. Get your mind out of the gutter) that goes with it proves to be at least half-decent.
All right, my three most anticipated shows for this season are Sin: The 7 Deadly Sins, Sakura Quest and Frame Arms Girl. Maybe Hinako Note as well, though that expands it into my four most anticipated shows.
All I know is that I’m not feeling as much excitement for 2017’s spring season as I did for the 2017’s winter season. It’s entirely possible that at least one of the anime listed here could be a contender for anime of the year, though. Only time will tell.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring 2017 Anime: What I Will Be Watching

  1. OG-Man says:

    As usual most of the shows you mentioned are on my list. Spring won’t give us much but our patience will pay off later on.

Leave a Reply

