Fire Emblem Direct Announced

fire-emblemNow, I know that there was a Treehouse Live stream after the Nintendo Switch presentation, but I decided to give it a miss. The reason for that is simply because I want to start playing the upcoming Switch titles whilst knowing as little about them as possible.
However, there was some news that came out of the Treehouse Live stream that very much intrigued me. As you can tell from the title, we will be getting a Fire Emblem Direct on January 18th. It’s at 10pm UK time on that day.
There’s two really obvious things that this Direct will probably be about, but that won’t stop me from suggesting an idea or two that I would like to see.

Might as well start with the two obvious ones: the mobile Fire Emblem game that was announced last year, and the Switch’s Fire Emblem Warriors.

Let’s start with the mobile title, since I don’t really know what direction they’ll take with that. Considering the huge number of characters across the franchise, I could see them maybe using something like Love Live School Idol Festival‘s scouting system to recruit characters, allowing you to create teams to go on skirmishes against enemy soldiers or monsters. Characters would have different rarities and strengths and such.
I don’t know if that’s what they’ll go for, but I feel a mobile Fire Emblem will probably use familiar faces rather than introduce a slew of new characters. I’m sure Nintendo may put some kind of twist on that type of game to keep it interesting.

Now, for Fire Emblem Warriors. At the time of writing this, all I know is that it will be a Fire Emblem and Dynasty Warriors crossover, in the same vein as Hyrule Warriors.
The teaser trailer indicates that we’ll be seeing characters from the two latest entries in the franchise, Awakening and Fates. I would love to see characters from every iteration of the series. I’ve been into Fire Emblem ever since the seventh title in the franchise saw an international release (perhaps the best impulse buy I ever made – and I was only around 12 at the time), so it would very much please me to see those older games represented.
Heck, Fire Emblem‘s history goes further back than that – the first game, featuring Marth, was released in 1990 for the Famicom. There were some more titles, released on the Famicom and Super Famicom, as well as one other GBA title before the series finally got an international release. It would be pretty cool to see characters from those titles show up as well.
Awakening and Fates are great games, without a doubt – it’s just that in terms of characters, Fire Emblem has a lot more on offer than just the characters from those two games.
I’m sure taking all the Lords from the different entries of the series could make for a fairly decent roster for this type of game, but they may not be the best choices when you take into account the different types of units players have commanded through the years.

I imagine it could be quite fun playing as characters who are able to transform – the Manaketes and the Laguz. Whilst they may have human (and sometimes cute – hello, Myrrh) appearances, just imagine being able to hit a button to transform and start tearing through waves of enemies with claw, talon, or even dragon’s breath. Fortunately, if the focus is just on Awakening and Fates, Tiki and Nowi are just a couple of examples of shape-shifting characters who have a shout of getting in.
I also wonder how they’ll do mounted units – and not just Cavaliers and Paladins who are sat on horseback. Pegasus Knights and Wyvern Riders could make for some interesting play styles.

Fire Emblem also has some gameplay elements that may be worked into Fire Emblem Warriors. I will hazard a guess that perma-death probably won’t be a thing, but the Classes, Weapon Triangle and Support Conversations could be. To be honest, I don’t hold out much hope on that last one, though.

There’s a fair few things I would like to see in Fire Emblem Warriors, but we’ll probably have to wait until the Fire Emblem Direct to learn any more about the game.

The mobile title and Fire Emblem Warriors seem almost like a certainty for the Direct, but there is one more thing I would love to see. We all know that the Nintendo Switch is due out soon, with new Zelda and Mario games coming our way. I would absolutely love for Nintendo to announce a new Fire Emblem game for the Switch – not a spin-off, but the fifteenth title in the franchise. Is it likely? I don’t know – the only way to find out for sure is to wait for the Direct.

Whilst a new Fire Emblem game would be the number one thing I would want to hear about from this Direct, I would also very much appreciate if we got translated Virtual Console releases of the earlier Fire Emblem games – I’d be happy with just the Super Famicom ones, to be honest. A Direct dedicated to the franchise sure seems like a good time to announce those kind of things.

Also, Fire Emblem has a trading card game, called Fire Emblem Cipher. I’d be pretty interested in seeing that get an English release.

Thus concludes my wants and speculation on what we’ll see from the upcoming Fire Emblem Direct. What I mostly want is news on Fire Emblem Warriors – if any of the other stuff I’ve written about here does get announced, then that’s just a bonus. Still, there’s no harm in speculating – and, as such, feel free to share what you would like to see from the Fire Emblem Direct.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Nintendo News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

