Winter 2017 Anime: What I Will Be Watching

As a new year steadily approaches, it’s about that time I took a look at what anime shows will be airing in the winter season. No need to split my list this time, everything I highlight here will be shows that I want to watch.
Information is taken from MyAnimeList, and the air dates are for Japanese TV. At the time of writing, availability on streaming services is unknown.
Without further ado, let’s see what the first season of 2017 has in store for us.

Ai Mai Mii -Surgical Friends-

The third season of Ai Mai Mi, which I expect will continue to be just as surreal as ever.
Due to air from January 3rd as a series of shorts.

BanG Dream!

A simple concept for this one: about a band consisting of five girls. That’s all I really need to know to have any interest in it, so I’ll be watching it. Simple as that.
Due to air from 21st January 2017.

Gabriel DropOut

A story about an angel coming to Earth. However, said angel becomes accustomed to Earth life and turns lazy, skipping school and playing online games. As I enjoyed the first few chapters of the manga, I’m very much looking forward to seeing this.
Due to air from 9th January 2017.

Idol Incidents

So from what I can gather, this is basically a show about idols as politicians. That might be the most basic understanding of its premise, but regardless, I’m sold.
Due to air from 8th January 2017.

Kemono Friends

Set in a place called Japari Park, where animals turn into human-shaped creatures called ‘Animal Girls’ due to a mysterious substance called ‘sand star’. Seems like it could be pretty cute.
Due to air from 11th January 2017.

Little Witch Academia

A TV series of Little Witch Academia. If you don’t know what Little Witch Academia is, then go and do some research, which should include watching the original short and its sequel Enchanted Parade. For everyone else, I shouldn’t really need to say what I’m looking forward to watching this one – it’s Little Witch Academia, for one, and secondly, it’s being brought to us by Trigger.
Due to air from 8th January 2017.

Minami Kamakura High School Girls Cycling Club

Another anime with a strong focus on cycling, though this time with high school students rather than university students. Hopefully this won’t suffer the delays that Long Riders! was subject too, though. It’s another girls club anime, and that happens to be one type of anime I enjoy.
Due to air from 7th January 2017.

Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid

I picked up the first volume of manga of this series from Comic Con, and I really quite enjoyed it. As such, this is probably one of my most anticipated titles for winter. The premise is about an office lady who ends up taking in a dragon girl. Said dragon girl, Tohru, is smitten with Miss Kobayashi.
Due to air from 12th January.

Nyanko Days
nyanko-daysAbout a shy girl called Tomoko Konagai and three cat girls called Ma, Ro and Shi. If cuteness could be weaponised, I’m almost certain it would look like this. Also, as a lover of cats, this show is right up my street.
I wasn’t able to find a PV for the show before posting this, but I do like what I’ve seen from the Twitter account.
Due to air from 8th January 2017.

SCHOOLGIRL STRIKERS: Animation Channel

A smartphone game adaptation set in a girls’ private school called Goryoukan Academy. A special unit from the school, Fifth Force, fights enemies called Oburi. Seems like this could be a fairly interesting watch, based on what little information we have available.
Due to air from January 7th.

Urara Meirochou

A show about four girls who are apprentice fortune-tellers. The synopsis given on MyAnimeList seems to indicate it will be a cute girls doing cute things show. I’m totally fine with that, though a little more information would certainly be welcomed.
Due to air from January 5th.

That’s almost everything I’ve chosen to watch for Winter. The continuing long-running shows I’ll be watching are Dragon Ball Super and One Piece.
Of course, Maho Girls PreCure! is also included as a long-runner, though that will be reaching its conclusion a few weeks in. However, Kirakira PreCure A La Mode will take over its time slot, and I will certainly be watching that as well.

Now, as for what I might cover… well, I’m thinking Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is probably my top choice, what with me owning volume 1 of the manga (and the others when they’re eventually released).
Gabriel DropOut and Nyanko Days are certainly possibilities, as too is Little Witch Academia.
Let’s see how the first episode of each plays out, as well as their availability on streaming services.

Feel free to leave a comment with the shows you’ll be watching this winter.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter 2017 Anime: What I Will Be Watching

  1. OG-Man says:

    Since Ai Mai Mi is short I can catch up with it in time for the third season. Otherwise our watch lists are nearly identical.

Leave a Reply

