MCM London Comic Con October 2016 Stuff

For the second time this year, I made my way over to the ExCel Centre in London for another MCM London Comic Con. As such, this will be a post where I share the items I picked up from there – my wallet feels much lighter now. Without further ado, let’s take a look.

Gonna start with the things that it has become a tradition for me to pick up whenever I’m at Comic Con.

img_20161030_104142

Always have to pick up some Pocky from TokyoToys.

The pack I picked up contains one box of Hello Panda biscuits with a chocolate filling; one box of Hello Panda chocolate biscuits with a chocolate filling; two boxes of choco banana flavoured Pocky; two boxes of strawberry flavoured Pocky; two boxes of matcha green tea flavoured Pocky; four boxes of cookies and cream Pocky; and four boxes of chocolate Pocky. These snacks will be consumed whilst I am watching anime.

img_20161030_110035

The other thing I always pick up: anime playing cards.

As you can see, I picked up some Soul Eater playing cards – these came from TokyoToys as well. With the Pocky and playing cards out of the way, let’s take a look at the anime and manga I picked up from Comic Con.

img_20161030_105112

First up, the anime DVDs.

I picked up Soul Eater NOT!, One Piece Collection 7, and Dragon Ball Z Season Five from Manga UK, whilst Anime Limited was where I got Psycho-Pass 2, Psycho-Pass The Movie and Harmony. Talking of Psycho-Pass, director Naoyoshi Shiotani had a panel there which provided an insight into his work in the anime industry. Some pretty interesting stuff.

img_20161030_105604

Fairy Tail Volume 19, Fairy Tail Zero, Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid Volume 1, Paradise Residence Volume 3 and Cells at Work! Volume 1.

Since I know that Miss Kobayashi’s Dragon Maid is getting an anime adaptation that will start airing in January 2017, I figured why not pick up the first volume of the manga. As for Cells at Work!, I really like the concept – the characters are anthropomorphisms of the cells in a human body. The series focuses on them doing their jobs – red blood cells delivering oxygen, whilst white blood cells fight bacteria and viruses for example. I’ll definitely be sharing my thoughts about Cells at Work! on here at some point, as well as the other manga I picked up.

img_20161030_110309

I already have Cure Diamond and Cure Moonlight, so this Cure Blossom was hard to resist.

Out of all the places selling anime figures at Comic Con, I could only find one that had any PreCure! stuff. They mostly had Smile PreCure!, but I managed to spot that. I almost got a Sailor Saturn figure instead, but for me PreCure wins out over Sailor Moon.

img_20161030_111219

Cure Blossom unboxed.

There was a little assembly, but nothing too complicated – just a case of attaching both her legs and her hair and then putting her on the base. Once I’d done that and photographed her, she went on my shelf alongside my other anime and video game figures.

img_20161030_111340

Here’s my collection, featuring Ganondorf, Cure Blossom, an Astalos, Cure Moonlight, a couple of Daleks, Animal Crossing‘s Tortimer, Homura Akemi, a Green Plesioth, Miku Hatsune, Cure Diamond and Ginko Yurishiro.

I didn’t get all of these from Comic Cons, but I’m pretty fond of my little collection here.

That’s everything I picked up from MCM London Comic Con this time around. I’ll be putting a post up later about the anime acquisitions that were announced over the weekend. Whilst I was there, Manga UK made a few announcements that I’m quite happy about. Keep an eye out for that post to find out what they were (or, you know, visit social media and find out that way.)

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MCM London Comic Con October 2016 Stuff

  1. Nice haul from London. Psycho Pass 2 and the movie are out in the UK already? Guess I will have to bite the bullet and finally watch them.

Leave a Reply

