Summer 2016 Anime: First Impressions

The summer season of anime has started for 2016, so I’ll be sharing my first impressions of the shows I will be watching. There isn’t anything else to say, so let’s just dive straight in.

Love Live! Sunshine!!
I started the season with this sequel/spinoff of Love Live!, and I very much enjoyed what I saw. I’m liking the new characters, with You, Chika and Yohane being my top three picks thus far. Really looking forward to seeing more from the other characters, as well as the potential pairings that will inevitably come out of this.

Show By Rock!! Short!!
It’s great seeing Plasmagica back again, though the short episode do leave me craving more – guess I’ll just have to wait for the second season proper.
Regardless, the first episode of this series of shorts had some funny moments, and if the whole series is going for the chat show set-up I think that would be neat. We’ll know for sure whether that will be the case or not with the second episode.
Great to see Retoree unable to resist Cyan’s charms again, too.

NEW GAME!
I loved the first episode of this. We were introduced to Aoba and the employees of the Eagle Jump company, and the interactions between all of the characters were pretty great. I also enjoyed the humour, and am very much looking forward to seeing more from Aoba and her colleagues. Had some pretty nice music as well.

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya 3rei!!
Lots of exclamation marks in titles this season,huh? Anyway, it seems there will be a great focus on action in 3rei!! compared to both parts of 2wei!, and I certainly welcome that – though I won’t complain if they slip some yuri in there as well.
We had a couple of new antagonists introduced – they come from the Ainsworth family and know Miyu somehow. We also had a new protagonist called Tanaka – she seems somewhat similar to Meme Tatane from Soul Eater NOT!, from what we’ve seen of her so far.
At the moment, this has the potential to surpass the first season as my favourite.

Regalia: The Three Sacred Stars
So we have at least two female characters who share a strong bond – though they call each other sister, they aren’t related. The two characters, Rena and Yui, even arrange to go on a date together.
There was also some really great mecha action – there were a couple of elements in there that reminded of Evangelion: the way the mechas moved, and the glowing arm thing.
I really enjoyed this first episode, and look forward to learning more about the plot in the future episodes.

Amanchu!
When you’ve got at least six shows where you really enjoyed the first episode, you know you’re in for a decent season. Of course, Amanchu! is one of those six. This one is pretty easygoing, though it did have a couple of moments where I laughed out loud.
Whilst I don’t think any other series will ever quite reach Flying Witch‘s pinnacle when it comes to iyashikei, Amanchu! is definitely off to a promising start. Looking forward to seeing how the relationship between the two female leads grows.

Time Travel Girl
Judging by first episodes alone, I would say that this is the weakest of the series I have chosen to watch. However, that isn’t necessarily bad – there was a fair bit in there that I did enjoy. That would be the soundtrack, the time travel and the science stuff, which does actually make up most of the first episode.
On the other hand, I’m not keen on Waka showing romantic interest towards Futa. We’ve been told next to nothing about him, so I couldn’t have cared less if he was killed by that errant baseball. Mari might have some of this towards Shun, Waka’s older brother, but it could also just be admiration. At least we actually learn a little bit about Shun.
When it comes to the two lead characters, I prefer Mari to Waka.
I initially decided to pick this up because there was next to no information on it at the time. However, as I learned more about it, I started having doubts about it.
Despite that, I will be sticking with it – and will be doing so as long as time travel and science remain the core focus of the plot.

Qualidea Code
A rather interesting action series, though I don’t really care for Ichiya’s ‘I don’t need to rely on anyone’ attitude – mostly because it’s pretty predictable that by the end he will be relying on others. Still, had some pretty great action scenes.
For me, my favourite characters are Maihime Tenkawa and Hotaru Rindo. The former is voiced by Aoi Yuuki, though I do like her ability as well. Hotaru seems very loyal to Maihime – hopefully we’ll see a lot more from the pair of them in the future.

Ange Vierge
This is another show that has had a strong start, at least in my opinion. I like how the characters abilities are based upon the worlds they come from, and the entirely female cast certainly earns some bonus points. Also, Saya wields a lightsaber.
Oh, this is another one that features Aoi Yuuki – her character in this is Ramiel, the one-winged angel.

…and now for something completely different:
Thunderbolt Fantasy
This is a puppet show, which comes from the mind of Gen Urobuchi. You can find episode 0 on Crunchyroll, which is basically a behind-the-scenes look at how Thunderbolt Fantasy came into existence – a pretty interesting watch.
As for the actual show itself, I don’t really know how to go about discussing it. I enjoyed it, though it’s pretty easy to see some things that might dissuade people from watching it – the camera work, and some of the CG is a bit rough around the edges.
However, the puppets are incredible to watch in motion, and the soundtrack is great as well. Considering this is one of Gen Urobuchi’s creations, I’m sure there’s going to be a few twists and turns in the plot, too.

With the new stuff done, let’s check in on the stuff that has continued from previous seasons.

Ace Attorney
The adaptation of the games continues, but I’m still firmly of the opinion that the best way to experience is to actually play them. The anime has been all right, but it doesn’t really allow viewers to try and figure things out for themselves. If you feel like checking this out, definitely play the games first for the best experience.

Dragon Ball Super
A new arc has started in this, reintroducing Future Trunks. A new enemy is also introduced: Black, who looks exactly like Goku. He has a rather familiar-looking earring, though…
With this arc, Dragon Ball Super has become darker. It’ll be interesting to discover more about Black, and to see Goku actually go all out against him. They did clash before, but Black’s abrupt trip back to the past was cut short.
Ever since it got past the retelling of the Battle of Gods and Resurrection ‘F’ films, Dragon Ball Super has actually be really good.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable
The fourth part of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure has been pretty great so far, and bringing Joseph Joestar back has made for a couple of really great episodes. I like the variety of Stand’s abilities, as well – the more bizarre, the better.

One Piece
Dressrosa is over – Luffy and crew have departed, moving on to the next arc. It’s a filler arc, the Silver Mine. As far as filler arcs go, it’s pretty typical for One Piece so far. Not really too much to say here, but the Zou arc officially starts at the end of this month.

Maho Girls PreCure!
Watching this has pretty much just become a waiting game – it seems the groups that sub it have had hands filled with other things. I’m hoping they’ll get back in to the rhythm of things soon.
Regardless, the first act has finished and it was pretty spectacular. Since I’ve been covering the episodes, I won’t say too much else about it here.

I do intend on picking up Naria Girls as well, but despite the fact that Cruncyhroll have confirmed that they have got it, I’m still waiting for them to put it up on their site.

This season have been off to a particularly strong start, and hopefully that will continue throughout.
That’s what I’ve been watching this season, and my thoughts on the first episodes – of course, if you want to share your opinions on the shows you’ve picked up this season, feel free to do exactly that in the comments.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in First Impressions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer 2016 Anime: First Impressions

  1. cirno9fan says:

    Momkuri and Kono Bijutsubu are two shows that are really enjoyable so far. Though, Bijutsubu only had one ep so far, so ti’s a bit harder to say it’ll be great, but Momokuri’s already on ep 2, and it’s continuing to be really cute and amusing~
    Both are hetmance shows, small warning I guess.
    Yeah, Time Traveler seemed pretty weak comparatively. I’ll continue watching it (because someone bugged me until I broke and said “fine” (though I never said it to them, so they probably don’t know, but ah well)), but I’m pretty wary of it, especially it being based on a novel (not an L/N).

    Qualidea Code seems like tons of fun! The MC is so very Chuuni xD Even if he has the power to back it up, he still screams “chuuni” xD I like the whole group of them so far really. All seem to be fun in their own ways. Very much looking forward to more.

    Still need to get around to Amanchu…

    • Rory says:

      The start of this season has been promising, here’s hoping that it can keep it up.

      Time Travel Girl might improve over time, but it definitely didn’t have the most impressive first episode.

      The main character is the only gripe I really have about Qualidea Code, but it’s pretty inevitable that his attitude eventually change. For me, though, Hime and Hotaru are the main attractions.

  2. Karandi says:

    I found it amazing that there is almost no overlap between your list and imne for the summer. I’ll be looking forward to your impressions of these anime.

    • Rory says:

      Everyone likes different things, and that’s good. Most things I have been watching have been off to a pretty great start, in my opinion. I just hope that these shows maintain the quality of their first episodes.

Leave a Reply

