Looking Forward to London MCM Comic Con May 2016

London MCM Comic Con May 2016

As you can see from the image above, it isn’t too long until the arrival of the next London MCM Comic Con. Of course, I shall be going to it, and I’d figured I’d just make a post to talk about what’s happening there.
I’ll be going on Saturday 28th May. Some time in the future I intend to go for the whole weekend, but for now, one day is fine.
I’ll be going over the stuff that is happening across the whole weekend, though I will be giving main focus to Saturday.
With that said, let’s take a look at who and what will be at the Comic Con.

There will be many different panels over the course of the weekend. On Friday, there’ll be panels for Lost Girl, Sleepy Hollow, Doctor Who (with the fifth Doctor Peter Davison) and Anime Unlimited. Anime Unlimited will be announcing upcoming anime Blu-ray and DVD releases in the UK – as usual, I’ll create a post after the weekend to share all those details.
Other panels on Friday include The Murdoch Mysteries, Storage Hunters UK and one that takes a look at what might happen if LGBT superheroes were accurately brought to life on screen.

On Saturday, there is the opportunity to see the European premiere of Mobile Suit Gundam The Origin III, as well as an Anime Guest of Honour panel featuring the film’s mecha designer Mika Akitaka and producer Osamu Taniguchi.
There’s also other panels for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Dark Matter and Arrow, as well a special screening of episode 1 of Preacher.
There’ll be a panel with a group called Shades of Vengeance, who seem to work with gamers in order to help them with ideas they come up with, whether they be games, comics or something else.
In addition to a panel for Colony, there’ll also be second ones for Murdoch Mysteries and Lost Girl.
Michael Arias, an American-born anime director, will be holding a panel to talk about Harmony, part of the Project Itoh series. I actually recently watched it, and I still really don’t know what to think about it… I might have to re-watch it.
Being Human, LEGO Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Warwick Davis, Outcast, NCIS: Los Angeles, and the annual World Cosplay Summit will all be putting in appearances at the Gold Theatre on Saturday.
At the Bronze Theatre, we get Dave Gibbons, John Noble, Sleepy Hollow (for a second time), Jeremy Shada (voice of Adventure Time‘s Finn the Human), Camilla Luddington, Animatsu (with a showcase featuring Rooster Teeth’s Lazer Team, and Chinese blockbuster Monster Hunt as well as previews of upcoming releases, giveaways and a Q&A), Poppy Drayton, Rebecca Breeds and Erin Richards.

Panels on Sunday include an exclusive VR panel, Bob Layton, The Originals, Cosplay, Cons and Culture, The Spoils and The Venture Bros..

As you can see, there’s a fair bit happening across the weekend. However, panels aren’t the only thing of interest at the Comic Con.

There’ll be a stage dedicated to video games, as well as plenty of opportunities to play new and upcoming releases.
Here’s a list of games that will be at the Comic Con, and probably playable as well:

  • Atelier Sophie: The Alchemist of the Mysterious Book
  • Monster Hunter Generations
  • One Piece: Burning Blood
  • Tekken 7
  • 88 Heroes
  • Fairy Fencer F: Advent Dark Force
  • MegaTagmension Blanc + Neptune vs. Zombies
  • God Eater Resurrection
  • Assault Suit Leynos
  • Lumo
  • Grand Kingdom
  • JoJo’z Bizarre Adventure: Eyes of Heaven
  • Attack on Titan: Wings of Freedom
  • God Eater 2: Rage Burst
  • Psycho-Pass: Mandatory Happiness
  • Odin Sphere Leifthrasir
  • Battleborn
  • Warhammer 40,000: Eternal Crusade

As you can see, there’s a fair number there to keep you occupied, and that’s without even mentioning the indie games.

Naturally, there’ll be plenty of stalls selling merchandise, sweets and a whole plethora of other items.
I’m particularly interested in the stalls of the UK anime distributors, where they’ll be selling anime Blu-rays and DVDs. TokyoToys will be present as well, which is pretty much my go-to stall for Pocky.
I get the feeling I may come back with at least one new anime figurine, and there’s always plenty of options for those at the Comic Con. Oh, and on the off-chance I actually stumble upon any Symphogear merchandise… well, I won’t be able to resist.
There’ll be manga as well – I might even start collecting a couple of new series. I won’t say what has tempted me here, but I will say keep an eye on my blog for my regular ‘Thoughts on Manga’ posts.

Talking of manga, Manga UK will have their own dedicated stage for the first time. This will include anime karaoke, a raffle where all proceeds will be donated to the Kumamoto Japan Earthquake Relief Fund by Global Giving, they’ll be handing out free Naruto and Bortuo headbands for their daily Naruto selfie, a Kamehama competition where DBZ poses and impressions win prizes and they’ll have a social team around the ExCel centre. There’ll also be online competitions for those who can’t make it to the con.

There’s a whole lot happening across the weekend, and I feel pretty confident in saying that there’s something for everyone there. I’m certainly looking forward to going once again, and I will be sharing my spoils afterwards.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

