New Nintendo Direct Inbound

Nintendo Direct March 2016
As you can tell from that title, Nintendo has announced a new Nintendo Direct due to air on the 3rd March at 10:00PM UK time. This comes off the heels of the Pokémon Direct, which officially announced Pokémon Sun and Moon – I was also saying just the other day how I felt we needed a full Direct presentation.

So, time for some rampant speculation, then. Let’s start with the games we know are coming out this month (in Europe, at least) – The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess HD and Pokkén Tournament on Wii U (the former of which has already found its way into my possession today, so that’ll be keeping my occupied for a while), and then there’s Stella Glow and Hyrule Warriors Legends on the 3DS.
If those games do crop up, hopefully it’s just a brief reminder of the release dates.

As for games we know are coming out but don’t have release dates: well, top of my list is Tactical Waifu Simulator– er, I mean Fire Emblem Fates. It’s been released in Japan and America, but it doesn’t even have a release date in Europe yet – the game has to be translated into quite a few different languages, and I’m hoping the English translation will use British English. Also, there’s the whole controversy about the petting thing – I don’t even know whether we’ll get that in Europe or not, though it doesn’t really affect the overall gameplay.
Sticking with the Fire Emblem theme, a European (or international, I suppose) release date for Genei Ibun Roku #FE would be nice. A mixture of Shin Megami Tensei and Fire Emblem that has a sort of Fate feel to it…
Let’s see… Star Fox Zero information would be nice – it’s taking its sweet time to get here, but I have faith that it will be a solid game by the time it is released.
The Wii U Zelda – I think we need some more info on that as well – maybe a trailer.

Probably like almost every other Nintendo fan, I would like to see a new F-Zero and a new Metroid – I imagine both would look particularly stunning with the Wii U’s HD. Monolithsoft have already proved that they can create awe-inspiring worlds with Xenoblade Chronicles X, so we know the Wii U is perfectly capable of it.

Oh, and I feel Federation Force is worth mentioning – sure, it’s not the Metroid game people expected, but I feel that people are not giving it a chance – it will build the Metroid universe, and we’ll get an idea of what the Galactic Federation does when they aren’t being horribly mutilated or saved by Samus. So, personally, I’m all up for it.

Just quickly checking Nintendo UK’s website, here’s some of their upcoming games: RIVE, Flipnote Studio 3D, Mario & Sonic at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, YO-KAI WATCH, Mighty No. 9, Soul Axiom, Terraria, forma.8, Lovely Planet, Mutant Mudds Super Challenge, PONCHO and Sonic Boom: Fire & Ice – a lot of those will be eShop titles, and we usually get a whole segment dedicated to those.

Thinking back on some of the rumours that were flying around recently… Mother 3. Will it finally happen? We’ll know after tomorrow, but until then, it’s nothing but wild speculation.

Wasn’t there a recent announcement that a Symphogear game was in development? I have very strong doubts that we will see anything like that featured in this Direct, or even on a Nintendo console, but a man can dream.

No matter what is announced, a new Nintendo Direct is always worth tuning into in my humble opinion as a Nintendo fan. Here’s hoping at least some of my speculation turns out to be true.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Nintendo News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Nintendo Direct Inbound

  1. I hope they announce that Fire Emblem is coming to the EU territories soon. Nintendo should spend more resources on localizing and less on censoring.

Leave a Reply

