Winter 2016 Anime: Thoughts So Far

Well, look at that. It’s roughly half-way through another season of anime, so I guess it’s that kind of time where I share my thoughts on what I’ve been watching. But you already guessed that from reading the title, right?
I don’t really have much else to say here, so let’s just dive straight in.

Assassination Classroom Second Season
The return of Koro-sensei and the E Class has been fairly enjoyable so far. It’s all been episodic stuff up to this point, but I imagine we’ll get a story that spans over a few episodes like we did with the first season. I haven’t read the manga, so I don’t know what to expect – what we’ve had so far is just more Assassination Classroom. Not a bad thing by any means, but it the second season could do with something to help it stand out more.

Please tell me! Galko-chan
Just a series of shorts about school girls engaging in girl talk. We also have some school boys who act exactly as you might expect teenagers to, particularly when they overhear the conversations. Otako’s teasing of Galko is pretty funny, too.

Pandora in the Crimson Shell: Ghost Urn
My favourite anime of this season. I really like the pairing of Nene and Cla-ring- sorry, Clarion. Nene’s quest for world peace seems like it’s laughable, but she has access to powers that just might help her towards that goal. The most recent episode introduced Amy Gilliam, a young girl with a prosthetic leg – oh, and she’s freaking adorable. Also, it seems some forces are out to get Nene, though only Clarion realises this at the moment – I’m looking forward to seeing how that unfolds.

GATE
Remember the fire dragon from the first half of this series? Well, a confrontation with it has happened, and it was entertaining to watch. Rory continues to be a great character (and I’m not talking about myself here). We’ve also had politics going on.
Whilst I enjoy the modern military in a fantasy setting, I really don’t like the single male character surrounded by girls – then again, I’ve never found much joy from harem anime. Still, I would have dropped this long ago if that was too much of a problem.

Fairy Tail Series 2
The adaptation of the Fairy Tail Zero prequel manga continues. I’m enjoying watching Mavis’ adventure with the founding members of the eponymous guild, though I know how things are going to turn out thanks to having read the manga. Still, it is fleshing out one of my favourite characters and providing the story for Fairy Tail’s creation.

Nurse Witch KOMUGI R
This is just a silly magical series. Nothing to take seriously here, but that’s not necessarily that bad – it’s nice to have a magical series that isn’t dark. Not a fan of the Tsukasa and Yuto stuff, but Komugi and Kokona make up for that with their antics – Kokona’s personality change after transforming is pretty funny.

One Piece
The Dressrosa arc is still going. The climactic battle of the arc has started, and it was pretty fun to watch. Current circumstances have Luffy out of commission for ten minutes (of course, we’re talking about anime time here, so we might have to wait a while for the finishing blow). Still that final confrontation between Luffy and Doflamingo has been pretty spectacular so far.

Dragon Ball Super
It’s finished with Battle of Gods and Resurrection ‘F’, which means it’s all new stuff I’m unfamiliar with from this point forward. First order of business: a tournament between the 6th and 7th universes. I’m looking forward to seeing how the fights unfold, particularly with Majin Buu being one of of the fighters. Oh, and Bulma’s actually doing something whilst the fighters prepare for the upcoming tournament – she’s trying to track down the super dragon balls, just to prevent Beerus from making a wish that involves complete annihilation.

Maho Girls PreCure!
We’re only two episodes in, and I have to say that I’m really enjoying this. I’ve seen it described as ‘girl meets girls crossed with Harry Potter‘, and I have to say that’s probably a pretty fair description so far.

JK-MESHI!
Yeah, this one is still going. I figured since I’ve started watching it, I might as well see it through to the end – even though there are far superior series out there that involves school girls preparing food.

Mahou Shoujo Nante Mouiidesukara
This isn’t too bad – we’ve seen Yuzuka transform and test her powers, but Miton (the mascot character) has mentioned ‘magical girl battles’. Whether we get to see any of those later on I can’t say, but this anime is fairly enjoyable for what it is.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

