Return of Nintendo Direct

Nintendo Direct Nov 2015
As you may be able to guess from that title up there, Nintendo will be streaming a Nintendo Direct on the 12th November at 10PM GMT. Of course, I will be watching the European version, which will be presented by Nintendo of Europe’s president Satoru Shibata.

I definitely welcome the return of the presentation, and will happily engage in some wild speculation about what we may see. Without further ado, here’s some speculation.

It’s probably a safe bet to start with things that we definitely know about. With that in mind, Xenoblade Chronicles X is due to be released on the 4th December, so I strongly suspect we’ll get some info about that.
On the same day is the European release of Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam Bros. – December’s going to be quite a month for RPG fans.

Other games coming out later this month in Europe are Animal Crossing: amiibo Festival, Mario Tennis: Ultra Smash and Nintendo presents: New Style Boutique 2 – Fashion Forward, so I wouldn’t be surprised to see those pop up during the presentation.
Oh, probably should also mention Nintendo Badge Arcade, which was revealed to be coming to Europe on Friday 13th November.

Now, the character poll for Super Smash Bros. for Wii U and 3DS closed a little while ago, so maybe we’ll see the results during the Direct – I’m hoping to see Shantae get in, but there are plenty of other characters who are just as likely. I doubt the Mii Fighter costumes serve as any indication of certain characters not getting in.

In terms of actual games, I can think of a few Wii U titles that will probably be released next year. Star Fox Zero, Pokken Tournament, Pikmin 4, Genei Ibun Roku #FE and The Legend of Zelda Wii U are things I would love to learn more about.

Looking towards 3DS, my most anticipated game is Fire Emblem Fates. Retailer listings for Europe seem to indicate that Fire Emblem Fates will only have a single version – maybe this Nintendo Direct will confirm it. In Japan (and possibly America), there are ‘Conquest’ and ‘Birthright’ editions.
Actually, it seems like the 3DS will be a worthwhile investment if you enjoy JRPGs – Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor 2 Record Breaker was released earlier this month in Europe, I’ve already mentioned Mario & Luigi: Paper Jam Bros. and next year we’ll be seeing Final Fantasy Explorers, The Legend of Legacy, Stella Glow and Bravely Second: End Layer.
Also due out next year is Project X Zone 2 – I downloaded the first game recently (seriously, from £19.99 to £6.50, I wasn’t going to pass that up) and I want to know more about it. Maybe there’s at least one more Nintendo character besides Chrom, Lucina and Fiora waiting to be revealed.

Right, that’s it for things I know about. Time for some proper speculation.
How about some new Virtual Console titles? A couple of months ago, Fire Emblem: Binding Blade was released on the Japanese Wii U Virtual Console – I would love to see that get an international release. Of course, you can’t mention the Virtual Console without bringing up Mother 3 – if that happens, I’ll be pleasantly surprised.
Maybe we’ll receive some news about upcoming eShop titles – Shantae: Half-Genie Hero being something I’m definitely looking forward to. Considering past Directs, there’ll probably be a section dedicated to all upcoming eShop titles.

The tweet revealing the Direct said that the focus will be on upcoming Wii U and 3DS games, so I’m not expecting much in the way of mobile or NX stuff.

Regardless of what they do show in the Direct, I’m happy to have it back. Whilst the whole ‘Muppets’ thing from this years E3 was pretty neat, I feel that the content of this Direct has the potential to surpass the content of the digital presentation – only time will tell, I suppose.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Nintendo News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Return of Nintendo Direct

  1. I am looking forward to all those RPGs heading for the 3DS.

Leave a Reply

