London MCM Comic Con Goodies

Once again, I’ve attended another MCM Comic Con and picked up a few things. I honestly thought I would have picked up more manga and anime, but it turns out I’m mostly up to date with that in terms of UK releases at least. Still, definitely managed to get hold of a few interesting items.

First, it’s pretty much a tradition for me to visit the TokyoToys stall and pick up a £15 Pocky pack – this has 13 packs of pocky: 3 chocolate flavour, 5 strawberry flavour, 2 choco banana flavour as well as what I think are two new additions for the pack: matcha green tea flavour (2 of these) and cookies and cream flavour (1 of these). There’s also two packs of ‘Hello Panda’ biscuits, one strawberry flavour and the other milk flavour in addition to two badges.

Looking forward to trying those new flavours.

Looking forward to trying those new flavours.

Another thing I usually pick up from TokyoToys is a deck of poker cards. Usually it’s anime-themed, but this time I went for a Miku Hatsune set – Project Mirai DX has definitely had an influence on me here.

The box art is also used for the back of the cards.

The box art is also used for the back of the cards.


Here's what one of the jokers and the aces look like.

Here’s what one of the jokers and the aces look like.


The cards are pretty much just 54 different pieces of art with the typical suits, numbers and letters you’d expect from a deck of playing cards. I’m pretty sure it’s fanart, which can lead to some… interesting pictures, to say the least – the art for the queen of diamonds is not something I would consider ‘safe for work’.

Anyway, moving on, I always pick up some new volumes of manga for myself from the comic con. I would’ve liked to pick up a varied selection, but I could only find Fairy Tail. So, naturally, I picked up five volumes of that to take advantage of the buy four, get a fifth free offer.

Volumes 14 - 18, covering the end of the Battle of Fairy Tail and part of the Oración Seis arcs.

Volumes 14 – 18, covering the end of the Battle of Fairy Tail and part of the Oración Seis arcs.


There’s currently 50 volumes of Fairy Tail, so I still need to do a bit more catching up. Still, I’m confident I’ll get there eventually, since I am up-to-date with Bleach (64 volumes translated and available to buy from bookshops and the internet).

Transitioning from manga to anime, I picked up a couple of boxsets of long-running shows, as well as two films.

From top left, clockwise: Puella Magi Madoka Magica The Movie Part 1: Beginnings; Puella Magi Madoka Magica The Movie Part 2: Eternal; Dragon Ball Z Season 3 and One Piece Collection 5

From top left, clockwise: Puella Magi Madoka Magica The Movie Part 2: Eternal; Puella Magi Madoka Magica The Movie Part 1: Beginnings; Dragon Ball Z Season 3 and One Piece Collection 5


If you’re wondering why the 3rd Madoka film isn’t there, that’s because I bought it prior to the Comic Con – part 3 was released before part 1 and 2 over here. Looks like manga isn’t the only thing I need to catch up with – the 12th collection of One Piece is due for release over here tomorrow (26th October), and there are nine seasons of Dragon Ball Z. I might pick up Dragon Ball at some point too, but I think I’ll give GT a miss.

With the Pocky, playing cards, manga and anime out of the way, I think now is a good time to take a look at what might just be my favourite purchases of this Comic Con. There’s three of them, and I have a picture of them all together but I figured I’d introduce them one at a time.

First up, another purchase inspired by Project Mirai DX.

Seems she was supposed to come with two speakers, but there was only one in the packaging... oh well.

Seems she was supposed to come with two speakers, but there was only one in the packaging… oh well.


She’s great, but I do have to say that Miss Hatsune is only my second favourite Miku. My first favourite… if you know what my favourite anime is, I’m sure you can guess.

Taking into account the previous post on my blog, Thoughts on Pretty Cure, I thought it would be appropriate to buy something PreCure related. There actually wasn’t that much in the way of PreCure merchandise, though I did find one stall selling a few things. Cure Moonlight or Cure Heart would have been instant buys for me, but alas, no sign of either of them. However, they did have two characters from Doki Doki PreCure. I only chose one of them – turns out it was the last one they had, too.

Cure Diamond, AKA Rikka Hishikawa

Cure Diamond, AKA Rikka Hishikawa


The other Doki Doki! character they had was Cure Rosetta, and they had two different versions of Smile‘s Cure Happy. Ultimately I chose Cure Diamond because well, the opportunity to pick up the last one wasn’t something I intended to miss. Totally could have bought Cure Rosetta as well, but I didn’t.

Moving on from a series famed for its yuri subtext to one that has yuri in its title, this is the final purchase I have to show off. I really like this one, and I’m sure fans of a particular ‘lone wolfsbane’ will too.

Kuma shock! It's Yuri Kuma Arashi's Ginko Yurishiro

Kuma shock! It’s Yuri Kuma Arashi‘s Ginko Yurishiro


I know some people prefer Lulu, but Ginko is my favourite bear from Yuri Kuma Arashi. The people selling this did have a Lulu figure as well, in addition to characters from Yuna Yuki is a Hero – if they had Togo or Yuna herself, I would have bought one of those instead. They didn’t – the two characters they had were Fu Inubozaki and Karin Miyoshi.

That’s everything. I spent most of the day on my feet and carrying all that stuff around was something of a pain, but it was all worth it. If the opportunity ever presents itself to go to a convention, I strongly recommend seizing it. I’ll leave you with a picture of all three figures together.

Cure Diamond, Miku and Ginko

Cure Diamond, Miku and Ginko

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to London MCM Comic Con Goodies

  1. Some cool purchases. I haven’t gone to MCM for a couple of years now, but when I have attended I tend to pick up some anime playing cards too.

Leave a Reply

