London MCM Comic Con Anticipation

London MCM Comic Con
I’m London-bound on the 24th October for the MCM Comic Con, as you can probably see from that title up there. The event actually runs for three days from Friday to Sunday, but I bought a priority entry ticket for the Saturday – it does mean I’ve got an early start on that day, but it sure beats queuing for countless hours.
Anyway, this is just the usual post I make where I go over a few of the things that are happening at the event. With that said, let’s take a look at what’s going on.

As ever, there’s a whole slew of special guest panels. The one that most interests is the Sherlock special panel, featuring Steven Moffat, Mark Gatiss, Sue Vertue and Amanda Abbington. I think the BBC’s Sherlock series is some mighty fine television, even if we do have to wait an eternity between each series…
In terms of TV shows, there is only one panel that interests me – and that would be the one for Sherlock, which is happening on the Saturday. Steven Moffat, Mark Gatiss, Sue Vertue and Amanda Abbington will be featured on the panel. I think the BBC’s Sherlock is some mighty fine television, even if we do have to wait an age between each series…

Also on the Saturday are panels for Beowulf, ITV’s Jekyll and Hyde and CBBC’s Eve. Not of particular interest for me, but that’s simply because I don’t watch much in the way of television.

Ah, but there is one other panel that does interest me – that would the ‘Anime Guest of Honour’. This time around it is Shigeto Koyama, an active designer in Japan’s media industry. Some of the titles he has worked on include Eureka Seven, Gurren Lagann, Rebuild of Evangelion, Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt, Kill la Kill and Big Hero 6.

There’s plenty of special guests, the majority of which I don’t really know… like I said, I don’t really watch much television. Still, I do know Todd Haberkorn, the dub voice actor for Fairy Tail‘s Natsu Dragneel, Soul Eater‘s Death the Kid and plenty more. You can see the special guests by clicking here.

I imagine that there’ll be plenty of video games to play as well, with the confirmed return of the Go Indie Games area. Also, Rooster Teeth will be returning, selling their latest merchandise as well as holding a panel. I might just have to pick up something RWBY related, particularly as Volume 3 is nearly upon us.

There’ll be plenty of stalls to buy stuff from – if there’s one event that’s guaranteed to make my wallet lighter, it’s the Comic Con. If I see anything Symphogear related, I will find it hard to resist – however, I’m not going to get my hopes up for that. Still, I’ll be picking up some more anime DVDs and a pack of anime-themed playing cards as per usual, in addition to Pocky and some manga.

I imagine in the next couple of days that the show guide will be put up on the Comic Con website, which will have a full list of stalls as well as a map for finding your way around, in addition to reviews and other various articles about pop culture stuff.

I’ll end up making a post after the Comic Con to share my haul as well as about any announcements relating to the licensing of the anime in the UK. Definitely looking forward to going again, but that’s pretty much the case every year.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

