Nintendo @ E3 2015

So, the annual Electronic Entertainment Expo has begun this week. Naturally, I’m most interested in the Nintendo stuff that comes from it.

In this post I’ll be going over a few things that have been announced, as well as the things I hope to see in the upcoming Digital Event.

Unfortunately, I won’t be able to watch the Event live, as I will be at work. However, I do plan to catch up as soon as I get home from work.

Starting with things that have been announced, three new fighters have been added to the Smash Bros. roster – though everyone knew that thanks to people leaking them early.
I’ve download the three fighters – Lucas, Roy and Ryu from Mother 3, Fire Emblem: Binding Blade and Street Fighter respectively.
We were all aware of Lucas returning, and I think that the return of Roy and the debut of Ryu would have been great surprises if they hadn’t been spoiled by the internet…
Anyway, Ryu is a particularly noteworthy character as you can use the classic Street Fighter inputs to use his special moves. Performing them in that manner increases their power. In addition, he has two Final Smashes – which one he uses depends on his proximity to an opponent.

I’m happy to see Roy return, as I love the Fire Emblem series of games. Yes, he plays similarly to Marth, though he does more damage with the base of his blade.

Lucas retains his moves from Super Smash Bros. Brawl – I’ve taken quite a liking to freezing airborne opponents with PK Freeze and watching them helplessly fall into the abyss. Of course, this only really works on computer players and opponents with high percentages…

In addition to the new characters, more Mii Fighter costumes have been added as well as two stages. The first comes with Ryu – it is Suzaku Castle. The second stage is one that we had been told about before – Miiverse.

Moving from Smash Bros., we had a surprise announcement. Nintendo have released EarthBound Beginnings on the Wii U Virtual Console – it’s the first game in the Mother series. It was originally released on the NES, and now it is available in Europe for the first time.
I’ve download this as well, and I’ll be working my way through it… at least until whatever games we get from the Digital Event distract me.

With the stuff that’s already announced done, it’s time for some speculation about the Nintendo Digital Event.

Nintendo fans are always asking for Mother 3 to be released on the Virtual Console… I may be getting a little carried away here, but I think there is a possibility of seeing that announced in the Digital Event. Lucas being added to Smash, the release of EarthBound Beginnings… or maybe Nintendo are just teasing us, who knows?

Oh, thanks to another leak, we all know about a 3DS version of Hyrule Warriors. I won’t go into too much detail here, but the new characters are certainly something that will convince me to buy this game again… and the fact I have a job now, with plenty of income to spare.

I imagine we’ll receive some more information on Super Mario Maker, which apparently made quite a splash at the Nintendo World Championship. It’s unlikely we’ll see anything from the next Zelda game, but there’s a possibility I could be wrong.

I think the Metroid series is overdue a new entry. Hopefully Retro Studios have been working on something. Still, won’t know for sure until the Event.

Talking of sci-fi games, the Wii U version of Star Fox might make an appearance. I don’t really have much more to say about that – I don’t really know enough at the moment to comment on it. Still, that could change after this Digital Event…

Another series we are overdue a new entry in is Golden Sun. The series itself is definitely worth checking out if you are an RPG fan, and the overarching plot has not reach a conclusion yet.

Of course, another E3 means more people hoping for another F-Zero game. I’m not sure how likely this is, but I certainly wouldn’t say no.

Xenoblade Chronicles X is a title that I have been eagerly awaiting. I think a release date for it is a perfectly reasonable request that will most likely be answered during the Digital Event.

Going back to Smash Bros. for a moment, I wouldn’t mind a glimpse of how the Fighter Ballot is going. Is King K. Rool in the lead, or are there enough Shantae fans out there to get her into the game? Of course, there’s loads of other characters people would like to see, too.

I would love more information on the upcoming Fire Emblem games – the new 3DS one and the Shin Megami Tensei crossover – as well as the Japan-only games to be released on Virtual Console.

I haven’t even mentioned the eShop. It’s more than likely that a game or two will be released on it after the Digital Event – this tends to be the way with these things.

Well, this post has been all over the place, huh? Well, that hardly matters.

I’ll make another post here after I watched the Digital Event – it will be a recap and my thoughts on it, as usual.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Nintendo News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

