London MCM Comic Con 2015 Hype!

So, it’s that time of year again – the London MCM Comic Con will be taking place from the 22nd to the 24th May. Naturally, I will be attending on the 23rd, which is a Saturday.

As is usual for the event, there’s loads of stuff available – plenty of stalls to buy goodies from, panels with people from various industries, games to try out… and even more besides.

I’ll be highlighting some of the stuff that will be going on.

As ever, the companies that license anime for UK release will be there – Manga UK, Anime Limited, MVM Entertainment and Animatsu. They’ll be selling DVDs, Blu-rays and merchandise, as well as making announcements about their upcoming releases.
I’ll definitely be visiting Anime Limited’s stall to pick up the 3rd part of the Kill la Kill Collector’s Edition, which will come with a UK exclusive Collector’s Box. In addition, with a purchase of any Kill la Kill DVD or Blu-ray, Anime Limited will be giving away a Kill la Kill branded tote bag – whilst stock lasts, of course. This is exclusive to the MCM Comic Con.

Manga UK and Animatsu will be sharing a stall – I’ll be visiting them to pick up Gatchaman Crowds, as well as expanding my collection of shonen series (Bleach, Dragon Ball Z, Fairy Tail and One Piece).

From the MVM Entertainment stall, I’ll be picking up both parts of the 1st season of Log Horizon – oh, and they’ll be giving away a free poster of Jessica Nigri with every DVD purchase, whilst stock lasts.

Which leads nicely on to some of the people who will be attending the Comic Con – cosplay star and voice actress Jessica Nigri will be amongst them. There will be other voice actors too – Hynden Walch, Ali Hillis, and Mark Meer amongst others.
There’s also panels for ITV’s Jekyll and Hyde, BBC’s Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrel & SuperBob. To be honest, I don’t watch much in the way of TV or films as it is, but I’m sure fans of these things will be happy to see them.
However, one series of films that I have watched is the The Hobbit trilogy – Sylvester McCoy, who played Radagast the Brown in the films, and was the 7th incarnation of the Doctor in Doctor Who, will be there too.

On the games side of things, Nintendo will be at the event. Splatoon will be playable, a week before it is officially released. I really enjoyed the Global Testfire demo we had the other day, so I’m looking forward to giving the full game a go before I get it on the 29th May (hmm… I wonder what my Wii U Game of the Month for June will be…)
Nintendo won’t be the only gaming company present – Bandai Namco Games will be there, as will Koei Tecmo and probably a few others. They’ll be showcasing their new and upcoming releases.

There’s always plenty of stalls selling merchandise as well – from manga to retro games to plushies and a whole host of items to innumerable to list here, you’re guaranteed to find something that will make you part with your hard-earned cash.

TokyoToys will be selling their wares, which happens to include lots of Pocky… of course, they live up to the ‘Toys’ part of their name as well.
For the first time, Tamashii Nations will be at this year’s Comic Con – they’ll be bringing their biggest and best collectibles from Japan. These include figurines from Sailor Moon, Naruto Shippuden, One Piece, Attack on Titan, Dragon Ball Z and a whole lot more.
Other stalls will be selling manga, t-shirts, food… the list just goes on and on.

Well, I think I’ve gone on about the upcoming Comic Con enough now, so this is where I’ll sign off – I’ll have another post written after I’ve been to the event, and I’ll also be sure to share news about UK anime releases.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to London MCM Comic Con 2015 Hype!

  1. Log Horizon and a free Nigri poster sounds like a good deal.

Leave a Reply

