Spring 2015 Anime Impressions So Far

We’re about halfway through the Spring 2015 Anime Season right now, so I will be sharing my thoughts about each anime series I’ve been watching up to this point.
I’ll be covering the shows in alphabetical order, and including long-runners as well as stuff that began in the previous season. Without further ado, let’s take a look at how this season has been treating us.

Assassination Classroom
This anime’s great. Koro-sensei is a great teacher, his students in class E are fun to watch and some rather interesting new characters have been introduced.

Fairy Tail Series 2
Back to the canon story for this one – I suspect the Sun Village arc will end in the next episode, allowing for the Tartarus arc to start. The Tartarus arc is easily the best one in manga, so I’m looking forward to seeing it animated. Still, the Sun Village arc was necessary, as it introduced members from the Tartarus guild. Some have complained due to the anime’s darker colours, but considering the upcoming events… well, it’s apt.

Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works
Much like Fate/Zero before it, the animation for the fight scenes in this series is gorgeous. There’s also been some adaptation expansion going on, which is nice.

Go! Princess PreCure
Have I mentioned that the Pretty Cure series can be alarmingly good? Not bad for a children’s cartoon, huh…
Anyway, I’m watching it for the yuri subtext, of which there have been some pretty neat examples – Minami asking Haruka to dance with her being a stand-out example.
So far, this has been enjoyable, though I would rate HeartCatch PreCure! and DokiDoki! PreCure higher than it… at the moment.

Gunslinger Stratos: The Animation
This one certainly has an interesting premise – people are pulled into a world where they have to fight their doppelgangers to prevent a bad future. Some elements make it clear that the original source material is a video game. This has been all right so far, but I reckon they could have done so much more with this one.

Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic
A new character, Kuzehashi, has been added to the cast – she is a new teacher at the school, who comes across as serious. Really, though, she just wants to get along with her students – something that Karen has picked up on.
Certain minor characters from the previous season are getting more screentime as well – Honoka and Yoko’s younger siblings. It’s all still enjoyable.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders – Battle in Egypt
Jotaro and his allies have arrived in Dio’s mansion, drawing ever closer to battling the man himself. There’s still the matter of a few Stand users to defeat before that, and this is where the show is at its best.
Not every enemy has to be taken out in a straight fight, as both D’Arby brothers show. We’ve also seen Vanilla- err, I mean Cool Ice in action.
Pretty good so far, I look forward to seeing the final battle.

Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha ViVid
So far, this has been a pretty light-hearted show about the life of Vivio, adopted daughter of Nanoha and Fate. We’ve seen Vivio face off against Einhart – both have impressive combat abilities. With the most recent episode, we’ve seen a lot of the other characters’ abilities to. There’s some impressive magic going on there, but I imagine the next episode will have some incredible fireworks. Especially with both teams preparing to use the “Breaker”…
I think the Nanoha series is great, and this anime is one in my top three for this season.

Mikagura School Suite
This one has been a nice surprise – I really like protagonist Eruna Ichinomiya. Club battles are fun to watch – when they are actually shown on-screen.
Most of the other time is spent with Eruna finding out more about her fellow students and helping them resolve any problems they have – or Eruna simply lusts after other girls.
This has been a fun watch so far, I’m looking forward to seeing more.

Ninja Slayer From Animation
Trigger are back, though don’t expect the same level of animation as Kill la Kill for this one. Instead, Trigger make use of a limited animation style – all in the name of parody, I suspect. This show is a parody of western views of ninja, and I think it does that parody really well.
This is a show you either love or hate – I love it, because it is just ridiculous.

One Piece
The Dressrosa arc is ongoing, with Luffy still heading straight towards Doflamingo for a climactic fight. I’ve been following the manga, but I’m still very much looking forward to seeing the fight between Luffy and Doflamingo animated. Luffy’s progress towards Doflamingo is slow, but maybe that’s just because the manga seems a lot quicker pace… I don’t know.

Re-Kan!
This series has some funny moments, and I like the chemistry between Amami and Inoue. I would find this quite enjoyable, though there is one thing that I despise – the perverted cat.
There was an episode without the cat, and I enjoyed that quite a bit. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem the cat is going away any time soon. I’ll just have to grin and bear it, I suppose… besides, everything else is pretty good.

Show By Rock!!
One of my top three in this current season. Cyan is extremely talented with her guitar, and the premise of the show is using the power of rock to save the world – I love things like that.
Also, bassist Retoree clearly has a crush on Cyan, and it is no secret that I am a yuri fan – there is a lot in this anime that I find extremely satisfying.

Sound! Euphonium
More like Sound! Euphemism… Jokes aside, this has been fairly enjoyable. Certain characters stand out more than others, though there is a large cast to be fair. There’s been some comparisons to K-On! (both by Kyoto Animation). Personally, I prefer K-On! to this, but Sound! Euphonium is something music fans will enjoy watching.

Urawa no Usagi-chan
Just a series short episodes about a group of eccentric girls. Not much else to say really – with each episode at three and a half minutes long, this provides a neat little distraction.

Wish Upon the Pleiades
Another magical girl show. We’ve had some character focused episodes, which let us get to know the cast a bit better. However, the most recent episode moved the plot forward.
This is enjoyable enough, but Nanoha has it beat when it comes to the magical girl genre.

All in all, a fairly enjoyable season. Hello!! Kiniro Mosaic, Show By Rock!! and Magical Girl Lyrical Nanoha ViVid are my top three shows, though I’d have a tough time deciding what order to put them in.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

