Winter 2015 Anime First Impressions

So the various anime shows I want to watch for this season have aired their first episodes, so it’s about time for me to share my first impressions of them. Quite an interesting batch this season, too.

Yurikuma Arashi
After watching it with decent English subtitles, I’m still not sure what I watched. It seems that Yurikuma Arashi is going to be a strange one. There is a lot of symbolism present in the first episode, and I suspect that will continue throughout the series. However, I know I enjoyed it and I’m looking forward to seeing more of it.

KanColle
This one feels rather similar to Strike Witches, which is by no means a bad thing. We were introduced to several fleet girls, and their enemy: the Abyssals. The first episode also showed a naval battle, and it was a fairly decent action sequence. This is definitely a show I shall enjoy.

Gourmet Girl Graffiti
After watching the first episode of this, I’m suddenly really hungry… This is a cute slice-of-life anime about cooking, and I like that. It seems enjoyable enough, and I don’t have really much else to say about it.

JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure: Stardust Crusaders – Battle in Egypt
Jotaro and his allies return, and they have arrived in Egypt. The first episode introduces a new ally – Iggy, a dog who loves coffee-flavoured chewing gum and is a Stand user. The first of several new enemies is also introduced, and it’s pretty much business as usual.

Assassination Classroom
It only took a few minutes for me to decide I like this one. A class of students are given a mission: assassinate their teacher before the school year ends. Thing is, the teacher, named Koro Sensei, is an almost invincible monster whose top speed is mach 20. The first episode was great, as it set up everything the viewer needs to know about the situation.

Aldnoah.Zero 2nd Season
It’s still Earth vs. Mars, and the former seems to be in dire straits. Can’t really say too much else about this without spoiling things, but it was fairly enjoyable.

The Rolling Girls
Another one that I liked within the first few minutes. I really liked the animation, and the soundtrack from the first episode alone has been good. I definitely look forward to seeing more of this one.

All in all, the start of the Winter 2015 Anime Season has been a pretty good one.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

