Summer 2014 Anime First Impressions

Well, a few of the anime I want to watch this season have started airing. There are also a couple that I’ve picked up that I haven’t mentioned before. As usual, I’m going to share my first impressions on them, though in groups rather than individually.

Sabagebu!
An airsoft themed slice-of-life anime. There were plenty of funny moments, and that’s all I really need to keep me interested in this one.

Futsuu no Joshikousei ga [Locodol] Yatte Mita
I’m just going to refer to this as Locodol from now on. Anyway, another slice-of-life anime, this time about two girls who become local idols. I liked what I saw, and it seems that this one will be more easy-going than Wake Up, Girls!.

Aldnoah.Zero
I think this one will probably be the most serious anime I watch in this season. Things took quite a turn at the end of the first episode. I’m looking forward to seeing how this one plays out.

Space Dandy Season 2
The dandy man in space returns, with the first episode of the second season bringing along a whole bunch of multi-dimensional weirdness. I quite enjoyed this episode, and I don’t really have much else to say on the matter.

Hanayamata
It’s another slice-of-life anime, this time with the focus on yosakoi dancing. This just might be my favourite new anime I’ve seen in this season so far. I like the characters, and am very much looking forward to seeing how they’ll all interact with each other in the future. I’m eager to watch more, but I guess I’ll have to wait…

So, there’s some pretty interesting shows this season. I’m looking forward to what else summer has in store for us, and I will share my first impressions on those shows at a later date.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in First Impressions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

