Nintendo @ E3 2014 Speculation

So, it’s that time of year again when E3 is upon us. I’ll be focusing on Nintendo’s announcements, as I have a Wii U and a 3DS. I’d figured I go over what Nintendo are likely to show us via their Digital Event, and share my wishes for it as well.

So, first things first, there is no doubt that we will get a look at The Legend of Zelda for the Wii U. Since Zelda is one of my favourite franchises, this is probably what I am looking forward to most. There’s been some speculation about it being a possible sequel to Twilight Princess, but we can’t know for sure until they’ve shown us.
Continuing on with more Zelda, I really doubt anyone would be surprised if Nintendo announces a Majora’s Mask remake. Considering the titular mask appeared in A Link Between Worlds and Skull Kid is an Assist Trophy in Super Smash Bros., this will probably happen.

Focusing on games that we know about for a moment, we’ll probably have more information on Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire, Bayonetta 2, Monolith Soft’s X and Super Smash Bros. as well, of course.
Oh, and there’s also Fire Emblem X Shin Megami Tensei that was announced before as well. There has been very little information on it thus far, so maybe E3 will provide us with more information.
With recent screenshots of Hyrule Warriors and the reveal of a Japanese release date, I wouldn’t be surprised for this game to have release dates for elsewhere in the world announced.

As for Super Smash Bros., I’m still hoping for Palutena from Kid Icarus: Uprising to be revealed as a playable character. I would also like to see Golden Sun‘s Isaac join the fray, as well as Xenoblade Chronicles‘ Shulk. Nintendo recently revealed that Ike is returning to the roster, though I would like to see a Fire Emblem: Awakening character as well.

Now, we get into possible new games. A photo leak possibly shows off something called Mario Maker, which appears to allow users to create levels using the NES Super Mario Bros. engine.
There’s also the Pokken Fighters title that was trademarked some time ago. This could be a fighter for the Pokémon franchise. If I were to guess, I’d say Namco Bandai is involved somehow. After all, “Pokken” sounds similar to Tekken, huh?

Now for new games I would like to see. Metroid, Star Fox and F-Zero are probably the most common requests on the Wii U’s Nintendo @ E3 2014 Miiverse community. I would certainly love to see those games as well, though I think Metroid is more likely than the other two. Also, with Mario Kart 8 doing the whole anti-gravity thing, I’m not holding out much hope for a new F-Zero.

People cry out for a new IP from Nintendo, but I don’t think that is entirely necessary. After all, since the Wii we’ve had Miis, Wii Fit, Dillon’s Rolling Western, Steel Diver, Pullblox and probably others that I can’t quite recall right now. However, if they do come out with a new IP, I’m almost certain that whatever genre they choose to tackle will have gained a welcome new addition.

Can’t forget about the eShop, either. Shovel Knight, Mighty No. 9 and Shantae are all games that pique my interest. With gems such as Scram Kitty and his Buddy on Rails and Child of Light available through the service, I can’t wait to see what delights await us in the future.

I would like to hear news of the 3DS Attack on Titan game being released outside of Japan, as well as any news of Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson getting the same treatment. There’s also the Wii U exclusive Fatal Frame game. Talking of photos, it seems that many people are hoping to see a second Pokémon Snap game that takes advantage of the Wii U’s GamePad.

That’s all I’ve got for now. I will be keeping track of the new releases and information shared by Nintendo, and posting my reaction to it all on here.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Nintendo News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

