Rory’s Wii U Game of January

Originally I was going to give the first Wii U game of the month of 2014 to Knytt Underground. However, I decided to acquire another game; one that was a launch title for the console. It is a third party game.

Mass Effect 3: Special Edition is the game to which I refer. An alien race known as the Reapers threaten the entire galaxy, so it is the job of Commander Shepard to put a stop to them.
Commander Shepard clashes with old foes as well, all in the hope of reclaiming Earth from the Reapers.

At the start, you can customise Commander Shepard. It’s limited to gender, face and skin tone in terms of appearance. You also decide on Shepard’s background and what kind of class you will play through the game as.

Also of note in Mass Effect 3 is the option to romance a select few of your crewmates aboard the Normandy. This includes options for same-sex relationships.

Decisions you make during the game can affect various outcomes, and I believe the Special Edition has the improved ending. Not having ever witnessed the original ending, I can’t really say much on that.
Admittedly, the Wii U version doesn’t have access to all the DLC for Mass Effect 3 available on the other consoles, but this game is worth a look nonetheless.

I guess you should give an honourable mention to Knytt Underground. If you like atmospheric games with a focus on exploration, such as Metroid, I recommend checking it out.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Games of the Month and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rory’s Wii U Game of January

  1. Overlord-G says:

    If I am someone who has not played Mass Effects 1 and 2, how much would that affect my experience playing 3, even though I am not a purist who wants to start from scratch and mainly in it for the yuri?

    • Rory says:

      At the beginning of 3 there is an optional interactive comic that covers the events of the first two games, so you don’t really need any prior knowledge of the Mass Effect series. I haven’t played the first two games in the series either, but that hasn’t stopped me from enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

