A Look Back at 2013’s Nintendo Games

Since we’re at the end of the year, I figured it would be worth taking a look back at the stuff that interested me. I will be looking at 3DS and Wii U games.

Well, let’s kick things of with the video games I acquired and played over the previous year. Should probably also mention that this has been the year of Luigi.

Things start rather slowly, though the 3DS become an essential console to own over the course of this year. The Wii U didn’t do as well as people might have hoped, but I certainly enjoyed what I got out of it.
So, in January, I got Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge on the Wii U. It isn’t the greatest game in the world, but it is certainly enjoyable enough. For my 3DS, I picked up Picross e2 from the eShop, since I love me some picross.

Things were fairly quiet during February, and then March saw the 3DS increase its library by a fairly significant amount. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow – Mirror of Fate, Luigi’s Mansion 2 and Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked were released in March. Oh, and I should also mention Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, which was released on both Wii U and 3DS. As for downloadable titles, there was Game Freak’s HarmoKnight and Code of Princess. The former is a rhythm action game, and the latter a side-scrolling beat ’em up.

Major releases on the Wii U were scarce after Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, but the 3DS continued to dominate the handheld console market, despite what this years Golden Joystick Awards would have you believe. Fire Emblem: Awakening was released in April, arguably the best game in the franchise.
Although the Wii U didn’t have many new games during this time, Nintendo slowly added to its Virtual Console. Kirby’s Adventure, Punch-Out!! and F-Zero were all available for next to nothing, so I naturally snapped those up. In addition, Super Mario World received a release at around the same time; I still reckon it is the best Super Mario game.

May was a month where I increased my Virtual Console collection on both Wii U and 3DS. Super Metroid I downloaded right away once it was available, once again due to the cheap price. On the 3DS, The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Ages and The Legend of Zelda: Oracle of Seasons were released.

After waiting several months, the Wii U finally got another new game in June: Game & Wario. Whilst that was fun enough on its own, it just made people long for more WarioWare. Mario & Yoshi and Balloon Fight continued the cheap Virtual Console games, whilst Mega Man 2 also received a release (as well as the other games, though I haven’t acquired those on my Wii U… yet).
Animal Crossing: New Leaf was also released, a game that I had no intent of buying until I saw the villager in Super Smash Bros.. As for downloadable games, there was the decent Mighty Switch Force! 2 and the ‘eh, it’s all right, I guess’ Bugs vs. Tanks.

It was in July where the year of Luigi really started to mean something. New Super Luigi U was available to anyone with New Super Mario Bros. U, providing some platforming challenges. Also, Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros. was released for the 3DS, with Luigi and his dreams taking centre stage.
As for Virtual Console titles, the Wii U received Donkey Kong and Kirby’s Dream Land 3. Oh, it’s also probably worth mentioning that EarthBound was finally released in Europe through the Wii U’s Virtual Console service.
Finally, in July Wii U owners finally got a major release in the form of Pikmin 3. Introducing new characters and Pikmin, it is an essential game to own if you have a Wii U.

Continuing the theme of controlling an army of 100 in August, the Wii U saw the release of Platinum Games’ The Wonderful 101. That was definitely a wonderful title, and the finale reaches Gurren Lagann levels of epic. It wasn’t exactly easy, either.
Etrian Odyssey IV: Legends of the Titan was also released during this month. Another game that poses a challenge, but the fun is in overcoming them.
Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams was released through Wii U’s eShop; a pretty neat platformer that uses a dual world mechanic.
Not a game per se, but Art Academy: SketchPad was also released in August. I’ve shared my pictures on this blog in the past, but some of the creations on there are absolutely mind-blowing.
Finally, the Wii U received a game that had been delayed for some time at the end of August: Rayman Legends. Another platformer, with the highlight being the musical levels. It also had the Kung Foot mini-game, which is fun.

I was playing Rayman Legends and Etrian Odyssey IV during September, so my game collection only increased by one during that time. That game was Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara. A fairly enjoyable side-scrolling beat ’em up, with branching paths and different weapons and items to collect.

I only acquired two games in October. However, both are amazing games. The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD brought the GameCube classic to the Wii U, looking better than ever before and improving the Triforce hunt slightly.
October also saw the release of Pokémon X and Pokémon Y, with new Pokémon, a new type and new challenges for trainers to overcome. I chose Pokémon Y, and started with Froakie. I have no regrets over my decision: Greninja is awesome.

November usually marks the release of several triple A titles, and this year was no exception. The 3DS had The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds, which seems to have escaped the ‘Zelda cycle’. Also on the 3DS, I picked up Picross e3.
The Wii U also managed to get some third party titles this month; Call of Duty: Ghosts and Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag among them. However, the biggest release for the Wii U in November was Super Mario 3D World, which went on to surpass people’s initial expectations.

That brings us to December, a month notable for having Christmas in it. Before that, however, the 3DS received a Final Fantasy game in all but name. Of course, I’m referring to Bravely Default, which takes the classic turn-based RPG and adds its own twist with the brave and default options during battle.

So the 3DS had a fairly strong year, and it seems that the Wii U finally managed to get started at the end of this year. With new Donkey Kong, Kirby, Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros. games to look forward to, 2014 will be a good year for Nintendo gamers.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

