Rory’s 3DS Game of December

Now, for this particular game I had my eye on the collector’s edition. However, since I didn’t know if I would have enough money for it, I held off on pre-ordering it. As a result, I missed my opportunity to get the collector’s edition. However, that does mean that I have enough money to get a Wii U game this month as well, so it’s not all bad.

The game I’m talking about is Bravely Default. An RPG by Square Enix which is more Final Fantasy than any of the recent Final Fantasy games.
It uses the job system seen in Final Fantasy V, has the crystals representing the four classical elements and turn based battles. However, the battles have a twist; characters can choose to ‘brave’ or ‘default’.
To default means to defend and earn ‘Brave Points’, or BP. This allows characters to ‘Brave’, thus performing more than one action per turn. The battle system works well, and can be experienced in the demo freely available from the 3DS eShop.

The story is definitely classic Final Fantasy, and other old-school RPGs. The main character’s village is destroyed at the start, dark forces, crystals need protecting. You’ll hear no complaints about that from me.

I’m slightly gutted about not being able to pre-order the collector’s edition. Ho-hum, such is life, I suppose.

About Rory

I enjoy writing, manga, anime and video games, so naturally here on my blog, you will find anime reviews, my art, Nintendo news and other such things that I deem interesting.
This entry was posted in Games of the Month and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

